How long do I have to bring a court case if I am injured in an accident?
This question is so general that there is not one answer. But the question itself refers to the idea that there is statute of limitations, or a cut off date, beyond which you cannot file a law suit against a wrongdoer.
Negligence claims in New York must be brought within 3 years from the date of accident. CPLR section 214. The statute of limitations is only 2 years for New Jersey cases. New Jersey Statutes Title 2A. Administration of Civil and Criminal Justice 2A § 14-2.
But this answer does not come close to answering your question. An attorney would need to ask you how the accident occurred and who was involved before giving a complete answer.
For example, some municipal claims must be filed in court within 1 year and 90 days of the accident. General Municipal Law section 50-I. But before you can file a lawsuit, you must file a notice of claim within 90 days after the accident. General Municipal Law section 50-E. So is the statute of limitations 90 days or 1 year and 90 days (or both)?
There is a three year statute of limitations in New York for which a person is injured in a car accident by a private person (not a government owned vehicle or employee). But in order to win such a case, you must prove in court you are are hurt. That means you must go to the doctor and take necessary medical treatment to cure yourself (if such a cure is possible). But in order to receive medical treatment, your no-fault carrier (that is, a health insurance rider attached to every car insurance policy) must receive notice of the claim within 30 days after the accident. Insurance Law section 5106 and 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [b]. So is the statute of limitations 30 days or 3 years (or both)?
I hope you do not see this response as ducking your question, but without many more specific facts, it is impossible to answer the question.